Hip Hop & Comic Books

Image

Salome MC – I Officially Exist

A few months ago I was cruising around with the radio on, I was listening to local PBS. They generally play great local and international music on there, but one song stood out as I was listening, I turned it up and was taken on a journey of musical energy, I couldn’t pick up the language (which intrigued me even more).

As the presenter came back on air she said “That was Salome MC from Iran”. I kept saying her name in my head until I got home so I would remember it. After 30 attempts at spelling her name into Google, I got it and while on her Soundcloud I found her most recent album “I Officially Exist”.

Salome Mc is an Iranian Hip hop and multi-media artist. She has released three Hip Hop albums online, along with a string of self-made music videos, and gained recognition as the first female rapper of Iran. She added experimental audio/visual productions to her field of work after moving to Japan, and had various performances, Exhibitions and screenings in different countries. Right now she is a master’s student in fine arts in Japan.

It is rare that I find such spiritually, in tune, pure Hip Hop and Salome’s work is nothing short of inspiring. I listened to the whole album and was hooked. Here is an artist that has stood up against the powers that divide nations and openly speaks about the deceit of religious institutions. Salome’s story and powerful message will move you. If you want change here it is.

So I hit up Salome, I explained how I found her music and how I would like to work with her. Now we are collaborating on a song together! You can expect something by the end of the year. If you want to listen to Salome MC’s music click the photo for a link.

One response

  1. Great post !

    August 28, 2013 at 8:40 am

Leave a Reply

