Hip Hop & Comic Books

The Spirits of Beyond

wedgetailed_eagleWe have had a wedge tailed eagle flying above our house for the past week! and today we saw it flying low above our house with its baby. This is amazing but what is really amazing is the relationship I have had with these birds since I can remember.

When I was a young boy, around 6 years old, my Grandad used to take me up to his property in Everton. He had a little cabin on the top of the hill with around 30 acres where he grazed cattle. A few meters from the cabin was a big old gumtree, With a great big nest perched at the top.

My Grandad told me it belonged to a family of wedge tailed eagles and later that afternoon we set out with a pair of binoculars, we drove around his property in his old F250 until we spotted a dark shadow in the sky, I remember the awe of seeing these massive birds in flight and became obsessed.

Collecting feathers and nagging my Mum to take me to healesville sanctuary when I couldn’t go up to the country. I started to collect books on birds of prey from then on.

The next year my Grandad bought me a pair of binoculars, which I still have today, I would sit up on his farm and watch the eagles all day for hours on end. Throughout the years when I have been completely lost or felt like giving up I would always see an eagle and not just any eagle but a wedge tailed eagle. Whether I be near the ocean camping or watching a sunset.

When I was 17 my Grandad passed away and I have always thought that he is watching over me through these magnificent birds, maybe he is. Right now I am the happiest I have ever been and I am seeing eagles at my home on a daily basis, I also believe these to be my spirit animals.

Thank you Grandad for instilling in me the appreciation for life at such a young age. I know you are with me. The world is full of beauty and mysteries, how lucky I really am.

Leave a Reply

