Hip Hop & Comic Books

NUMBERS

Screen Shot 2014-03-28 at 3.53.43 pmMost days I wonder how our focus strays
Walking stained footpaths, passing change
Each step closer to parting ways
Bumping with nothing to hold
Say something

A city full of strays, kids, thugs with blades
Drugs, rape, mugged, end up on the front page
Racial hate, people displaced, evil set in its place
And waits patiently for many are weak

Speak to me, I hear the whispers, here to teach
Heal the needs from cracked dreams
Fractured beings who wont believe
Regardless of my pleads
So I walk on

Words fall on deaf ears so I lost most my peers
Younger years, wonder how we got here
Lost, everything comes at a cost, it’s not clear
So I perceiver

Dear friends and family, I’m getting there gradually
Almost at my door, counting numbers, haphazardly
With a cautionary step, get to 20, take a breath
Now I can finally rest

-BAS

Illustration by: Timothy Doyle

Leave a Reply

